Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature” Winners

Flash405-Nature1

Our latest round of Flash 405 was one for the record books! When “Nature” closed for submissions, Exposition Review editor Brianna J.L. Smyk had the daunting task of selecting just a few “vibrant pieces that dissect all the meanings of nature” from our largest entry pool yet.

Read on to explore the dark and light sides of human and Mother nature with the winners of Flash 405, April 2018: “Nature”!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2018: “Mystery” with Glen David Gold

Flash405

The final Flash 405 of 2018 is here, and we’re thrilled that to announce Glen David Gold as our latest guest judge!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from August 4-September 5, 2018 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2018: “Mystery” with Glen David Gold”

Flash 405, April 2018: “Magnetism” Winners

Flash 405: April 2018 "Magnetism" Winners Exposition Review is pleased to announce the next round of winners of Flash 405! Our April 2018 contest was judged by nationally recognized poet Edwin Bodney, who proposed the theme “Magnetism.” In doing so, he called for writers to explore how “the idea of being magnetized by known and unknown forces leaves an entire field for the many versions of ourselves to live in.”

We found ourselves attracted to many of the entries submitted, but a few stood out about the rest for their inherent tension and beautiful delivery. Read on to discover these powerful pieces for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2018: “Magnetism” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature”

Flash405

We’re excited to announce our next round of Flash 405!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from June 4-July 5, 2018  via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s theme from judge Brianna J.L. Smyk!
Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature””

Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed” Winners

Flash405-Greed
We opened our 2018 season of Flash 405 with a call to get selfish… or, more accurately, to explore selfishness, and avarice, and all other delightful and horrific forms of “Greed.” Judge Rebecca Luxton said of her theme that “greed is the beginning of so many great narratives,” and the submissions we received definitely reflected that.

Narrowing down these exceptional submissions was no easy feat, but we’re now excited to announce the winners of Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed”!

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed” Winners”

Call for Entries! Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed”

Flash405

Our annual issue submissions are closed, but that means it’s time to kick off our first Flash 405 contest of 2018!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contest winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from February 4-March 5, 2018 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s theme from judge and Expo editor Rebecca Luxton:

Continue reading “Call for Entries! Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed””

Recap: “L.A. in a Flash” @ Lit Crawl L.A.

LitCrawl LA LA in a Flash

The editors of Exposition Review love Lit Crawl L.A., and we’re excited to be among those chosen to host an event at this bar crawl turned literary extravaganza. On October 25, we gathered in NoHo with some of our favorite multi-genre short form writers for “L.A. in a Flash,” one of our signature #ExpoPresents micro-readings/workshops. Read on for all the flash-y details.

Continue reading “Recap: “L.A. in a Flash” @ Lit Crawl L.A.”

Flash 405, August 2017: “Blue” Winners

Flash405-Blue

Exposition Review is excited to announce the winners of Flash 405, August 2017: “Blue”! For our final 2017 round of Flash 405, guest judges David Lott and Michele Raphael, co-founders and editors of Angels Flight • literary west, called for works that would “take us into who and what we are and what we will become.”

Our winning writers delivered with some amazing pieces that take the reader through several lifetimes of emotion, of joy and pain, both real and imagined. Read on to see what our judges had to say:

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2017: “Blue” Winners”

Call for Entries! Flash 405, August 2017: “Blue” with Angels Flight • literary west

Flash405

Here it is, folks, your last chance to enter your short form writing in our multi-genre Flash 405 writing contest until 2018! Offering you a chance to win cash prizes and online publication, we’ll be accepting entries in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and stage & screen for our next round from August 4–September 5, 2017, via Submittable. This round has not one but two guest judges, fellow USC alumni David Lott and Michele Raphael, co-founders of another LA-based lit mag (and salon series) Angels Flight • literary west.

Read on to get inspiration on this month’s theme straight from your guest judges:

Continue reading “Call for Entries! Flash 405, August 2017: “Blue” with Angels Flight • literary west