Flash 405, February 2021: “Your Digital Stories” Winners

We kicked off 2021 with a twist: a special collaboration with OUR DIGITAL STORIES, calling for short-form work set within the digital world and above all designed to be performed. This unique prompt was a reflection of the past year and how the social limitations of the pandemic also created new opportunities to tell and share our stories.

We are excited to present the winners who shared their own take on digital storytelling: from Zoom plays to Virtual Reality poetry. The winners will also be performed in the next volume of OUR DIGITAL STORIES, airing later this summer.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2021: “Your Digital Stories” Winners”

Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language” Winners

It’s time to share the results of our final Flash 405 contest of this year! 2020 has been a wild, unwieldy, and at times horrifying rollercoaster, but we kicked off this season with “Bright Spot,” and Flash 405 has continued to remain as such for Exposition Review. The winners of 2020 have delighted us, moved us, and connected us in our love of good writing. With “Invented Language,” the winning works took this a step further, exploring the construction and meaning of words themselves to evoke powerful emotion. We are pleased to share those works now, selected by guest judge Rita Bullwinkel.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel” Winners

With the theme “International Travel,” judge Dave Gregory asked to “see the world through your words,” and received numerous entries that did just that: stories that made us richer, even at a time when the desire to travel and boundaries—physical, emotional, and social—seem more keenly felt than ever. We are now pleased to share the best of those stories with the world! Plus, with a portion of the entry fees and Exposition Review matching the amount, we were able to donate to an important nonprofit in the Los Angeles community.

Read on to discover them for yourself.

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel” Winners”

Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of Flash 405: “Change in Perspective,” selected by guest judge K.B. Carle. The April 2020 contest asked writers to tell stories that changed them, but from a completely different point of view. K.B.’s prompt challenged writers to think outside the box (or even as the box!) and pushed them out of their comfort zone, resulting in some excellent, unexpected pieces.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners”

Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of “Bright Spot,” our first Flash 405 contest of 2020, judged by Exposition Review Associate Editor Sarah Smith Narhi. With the current global health crisis, finding bright spots in life—the things “that spark enough joy that you would fistfight Marie Kondo to save them”—has never been more relevant.

For Exposition Review, getting to publish these winners and share their voices in the world is our bright spot. Read on to discover them for yourself!
Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners”

Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners

Exposition Review is pleased to announce the winners of our final Flash 405 contest of 2019! Guest judge Nancy Au posed the theme “Underneath the Words,” calling for works that took us to “places where you’ve never explored before, or the places where you’ve had difficulty finding access to.”

The winning works stood out for their delivery of powerful yet succinct revelations, discomforts, and transformations. Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners

We are pleased to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our June contest was judged by Expo Associate Editor CD Eskilson, who drew on the 50th anniversary of the historic Stonewall Uprising for inspiration for the theme “Legacy.”

The winning pieces took this inspiration and created works that “serve as a map through generations” as well as reveal “the ground we stand on”—and ones we won’t soon forget. Read on to discover the winners for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners”

Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths” Winners

Exposition Review is excited to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our April contest, judged by Expo co-Editor-in-Chief Jessica June Rowe, called for narratives that explored the “intersections of times, cultures, and genres” through the lens of magic and mythology.

The submissions have been read, the winners selected, and now you can read these enchanting works for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths” Winners”

Flash 405, February 2019: “Happily Ever After” Winners

The winners of our first Flash contest of 2019 have been selected! Here at Exposition Review, we were thrilled to have Guest Judge Maureen Lee Lenker involved for this special February romance-themed contest, and now we’re even more thrilled to present the winning works.

Read on to read the winners of Flash 405, Februray 2019: “Happily Ever After!”

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2019: “Happily Ever After” Winners”