Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of Flash 405: “Change In Perspective,” selected by guest judge K.B. Carle. The April 2020 contest asked writers to tell stories that changed them, but from a completely different point of view. K.B.’s prompt challenged writers to think outside the box (or even as the box!) and pushed them out of their comfort zone, resulting in some excellent, unexpected pieces.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners”

Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of “Bright Spot,” our first Flash 405 contest of 2020, judged by Exposition Review Associate Editor Sarah Smith Narhi. With the current global health crisis, finding bright spots in life—the things “that spark enough joy that you would fistfight Marie Kondo to save them”—has never been more relevant.

For Exposition Review, getting to publish these winners and share their voices in the world is our bright spot. Read on to discover them for yourself!
Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners”

Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners

Exposition Review is pleased to announce the winners of our final Flash 405 contest of 2019! Guest judge Nancy Au posed the theme “Underneath the Words,” calling for works that took us to “places where you’ve never explored before, or the places where you’ve had difficulty finding access to.”

The winning works stood out for their delivery of powerful yet succinct revelations, discomforts, and transformations. Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners

We are pleased to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our June contest was judged by Expo Associate Editor CD Eskilson, who drew on the 50th anniversary of the historic Stonewall Uprising for inspiration for the theme “Legacy.”

The winning pieces took this inspiration and created works that “serve as a map through generations” as well as reveal “the ground we stand on”—and ones we won’t soon forget. Read on to discover the winners for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners”

Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths” Winners

Exposition Review is excited to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our April contest, judged by Expo co-Editor-in-Chief Jessica June Rowe, called for narratives that explored the “intersections of times, cultures, and genres” through the lens of magic and mythology.

The submissions have been read, the winners selected, and now you can read these enchanting works for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths” Winners”

Flash 405, February 2019: “Happily Ever After” Winners

The winners of our first Flash contest of 2019 have been selected! Here at Exposition Review, we were thrilled to have Guest Judge Maureen Lee Lenker involved for this special February romance-themed contest, and now we’re even more thrilled to present the winning works.

Read on to read the winners of Flash 405, Februray 2019: “Happily Ever After!”

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2019: “Happily Ever After” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature” Winners

Flash405-Nature1

Our latest round of Flash 405 was one for the record books! When “Nature” closed for submissions, Exposition Review editor Brianna J.L. Smyk had the daunting task of selecting just a few “vibrant pieces that dissect all the meanings of nature” from our largest entry pool yet.

Read on to explore the dark and light sides of human and Mother nature with the winners of Flash 405, April 2018: “Nature”!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature” Winners”

Flash 405, April 2018: “Magnetism” Winners

Flash 405: April 2018 "Magnetism" Winners Exposition Review is pleased to announce the next round of winners of Flash 405! Our April 2018 contest was judged by nationally recognized poet Edwin Bodney, who proposed the theme “Magnetism.” In doing so, he called for writers to explore how “the idea of being magnetized by known and unknown forces leaves an entire field for the many versions of ourselves to live in.”

We found ourselves attracted to many of the entries submitted, but a few stood out about the rest for their inherent tension and beautiful delivery. Read on to discover these powerful pieces for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2018: “Magnetism” Winners”

Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed” Winners

Flash405-Greed
We opened our 2018 season of Flash 405 with a call to get selfish… or, more accurately, to explore selfishness, and avarice, and all other delightful and horrific forms of “Greed.” Judge Rebecca Luxton said of her theme that “greed is the beginning of so many great narratives,” and the submissions we received definitely reflected that.

Narrowing down these exceptional submissions was no easy feat, but we’re now excited to announce the winners of Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed”!

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2018: “Greed” Winners”