Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2021: “The Other”

We’re kicking off another round of Flash 405 starting April 4, 2021! Judged by Expo Associate Editor Anya Johnson, we invite you to submit flash fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, and experimental on the theme “The Other.”

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. Entries will be accepted until May 5, 2021 via Submittable. Before submitting, take a look at Anya’s notes on the theme below. We also encourage you to visit our Flash 405 page where you will find the full guidelines and can read past contest winners.

Read on to learn more about this month’s contest:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2021: “The Other””

Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2021: “Your Digital Stories”

We’re back for another year of Flash 405, and kicking off 2021 with a twist! Our February contest is a collaboration with one of our favorite creative orgs to come out of the pandemic: OUR DIGITAL STORIES!

Entries will be accepted from Feb 4–Mar 5, 2021 via Submittable.  You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here, but note the rules (and prizes!) for this round are a bit different.

Read on to learn more about this month’s contest:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2021: “Your Digital Stories””

Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language” Winners

It’s time to share the results of our final Flash 405 contest of this year! 2020 has been a wild, unwieldy, and at times horrifying rollercoaster, but we kicked off this season with “Bright Spot,” and Flash 405 has continued to remain as such for Exposition Review. The winners of 2020 have delighted us, moved us, and connected us in our love of good writing. With “Invented Language,” the winning works took this a step further, exploring the construction and meaning of words themselves to evoke powerful emotion. We are pleased to share those works now, selected by guest judge Rita Bullwinkel.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel” Winners

With the theme “International Travel,” judge Dave Gregory asked to “see the world through your words,” and received numerous entries that did just that: stories that made us richer, even at a time when the desire to travel and boundaries—physical, emotional, and social—seem more keenly felt than ever. We are now pleased to share the best of those stories with the world! Plus, with a portion of the entry fees and Exposition Review matching the amount, we were able to donate to an important nonprofit in the Los Angeles community.

Read on to discover them for yourself.

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language”

Exposition Review is delighted to announce our last Flash 405 contest of 2020 with guest judge, author Rita Bullwinkel!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from Aug 4–Sept 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language””

Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of Flash 405: “Change in Perspective,” selected by guest judge K.B. Carle. The April 2020 contest asked writers to tell stories that changed them, but from a completely different point of view. K.B.’s prompt challenged writers to think outside the box (or even as the box!) and pushed them out of their comfort zone, resulting in some excellent, unexpected pieces.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel”

Our next Flash 405 contest is almost here! This round will be judged by our own Associate Editor Dave Gregory.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from June 4–July 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel””

Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of “Bright Spot,” our first Flash 405 contest of 2020, judged by Exposition Review Associate Editor Sarah Smith Narhi. With the current global health crisis, finding bright spots in life—the things “that spark enough joy that you would fistfight Marie Kondo to save them”—has never been more relevant.

For Exposition Review, getting to publish these winners and share their voices in the world is our bright spot. Read on to discover them for yourself!
Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2020: “Change in Perspective”

It’s time to announce our next Flash 405 contest. For our April 2020 round, we are delighted to welcome guest judge K.B. Carle!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from April 4–May 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2020: “Change in Perspective””

Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot”

Welcome back to another exciting year of Flash 405! Our first contest of the new year (and new decade!) will open for submissions on February 4, 2020, and will be judged  by former Expo Poetry Editor and current associate editor Sarah Smith Narhi.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from Feb 4–Mar 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot””