Flash 405, April 2024: “Home” Winners

In April, author Liza Olson stepped into the role of guest judge for Flash 405 and crafted her contest around the theme “Home,” looking for stories that invited us into the contours and concepts of what a home can be. After receiving a number of incredible micro-narratives and careful consideration of each entry, we are now ready to announce the winners!

Our 1st and 2nd place winners received a cash prize, and their work, along with our honorable mentions, can be read below.

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2024: “Home” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2024: “Persona”

Mark your calendars – on June 4, our next round of Flash 405 will open for submissions! Our Flash 405 writing contest is a celebration of short-form narratives, accepting work in multiple genres, from prose to poetry to hybrid and experimental forms. This round, we are looking for flash work inspired by the theme “Persona.” The theme was chosen by Expo Associate Editor Madeline Grimm, who will be serving as judge for our June contest!

Learn more about Madeline and this month’s contest theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2024: “Persona””

Flash 405, February 2024: “Host” Winners

We are excited to announce our first Flash 405 winners of 2024! “Host” closed for submissions in early March. Judged by our “POP!” co-Fiction editor Sam Burt, this round called for entries to explore what it means to be a good host—or a bad one—in all it’s various interpretations. We received many incredible entries that weren’t afraid to question the unspoken rules of hospitality and relationships, and narrowing them down to a final three was no easy feat for Sam!

That said, we are happy to reveal our winners and “Host” their stories in Exposition Review:

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2024: “Host” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2024: “Home”

It’s almost time for our April 2024 Flash 405 contest, and we couldn’t be more pleased to welcome author Liza Olson into our Expo “Home” as the guest judge for this upcoming round!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short-form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. We will accept entries starting April 4 through May 5, 2024.

Learn more about Liza and this month’s contest theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2024: “Home””

Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2024: “Host”

An image advertising a call for entries for

Hello 2024, and welcome back to another year of Flash 405! Our first contest, with the theme “Host,” will be judged by Sam Burt, Fiction Co-Editor for our “POP!” issue.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short-form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. Submissions will open on February 4, 2024, via Submittable.

Before submitting, we encourage you to check out the full prompt below. You can also see further guidelines and see past contest winners by visiting our Flash 405 page.

Learn more about our first contest of 2024 below:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2024: “Host””

Flash 405, August 2023: “Secret” Winners

The winners of “Secret” are secret no more!

We ended this season of Flash 405 with a flourish—a final round judged by Vol. VIII: “Lines” contributor L Mari Harris. Her call for submissions asked for secrets—positive, negative, happy, peaceful, sad, angry. No topic was taboo, but each word had to count.

We received many wonderful entries, and are excited to reveal the winners of “Secret”:

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2023: “Secret” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2023: “Crescendo” Winners

For our June Flash 405 contest, judge Shze-Hui Tjoa sought writing “that isn’t afraid of its own intensity, of being too much,” and “language that swells with momentum and power.” Spanning fiction to nonfiction to the stage, her selections all crest unexpectedly and pack a powerful punch.

Learn more about Shze-Hui’s selections and read the winning pieces below:

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2023: “Crescendo” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2023: “Secret”

We’re thrilled to round out our 2023 Flash 405 season with our next contest, “Secret,” guest-judged by the wonderful L Mari Harris!

L Mari’s own flash was featured in our latest issue, the subject of which—“Our Mothers”—knows a thing or two about secrets.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short-form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. Submissions will be open August 4–September 5, 2023.

Learn more about our final contest of 2023 below:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2023: “Secret””

Flash 405, April 2023: “Flight” Winners

For our April Flash 405 contest, guest judge Lucy Zhang wanted to read about flight, asking, “How do we fly, but also how do we float, fall, or glide?” In the winning pieces, imagery around her theme—birds, planes, space—soared in unexpected ways, with poignancy and whimsy.

Learn more about Lucy’s selections and read the winning pieces below:

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2023: “Flight” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2023: “Crescendo”

Exposition Review is pleased to share the theme for our June 2023 Flash 405 contest judged by our own Fiction Co-Editor Shze-Hui Tjoa: “Crescendo.”

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short-form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. Submissions will be open June 4–July 5, 2023.

Read on to learn more about Shze-Hui and her prompt:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2023: “Crescendo””