Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners

Exposition Review is pleased to announce the winners of our final Flash 405 contest of 2019! Guest judge Nancy Au posed the theme “Underneath the Words,” calling for works that took us to “places where you’ve never explored before, or the places where you’ve had difficulty finding access to.”

The winning works stood out for their delivery of powerful yet succinct revelations, discomforts, and transformations. Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners

We are pleased to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our June contest was judged by Expo Associate Editor CD Eskilson, who drew on the 50th anniversary of the historic Stonewall Uprising for inspiration for the theme “Legacy.”

The winning pieces took this inspiration and created works that “serve as a map through generations” as well as reveal “the ground we stand on”—and ones we won’t soon forget. Read on to discover the winners for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words”

We are excited to announce our last Flash 405 contest of 2019, and an extra-special guest judge: award-winning flash writer Nancy Au!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from Aug 4–Sept 5, 2019 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words””

Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths” Winners

Exposition Review is excited to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our April contest, judged by Expo co-Editor-in-Chief Jessica June Rowe, called for narratives that explored the “intersections of times, cultures, and genres” through the lens of magic and mythology.

The submissions have been read, the winners selected, and now you can read these enchanting works for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy”

It’s that time again: our Flash 405 contest is back in session!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from June 4–July 5, 2019 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy””

Flash 405, February 2019: “Happily Ever After” Winners

The winners of our first Flash contest of 2019 have been selected! Here at Exposition Review, we were thrilled to have Guest Judge Maureen Lee Lenker involved for this special February romance-themed contest, and now we’re even more thrilled to present the winning works.

Read on to read the winners of Flash 405, Februray 2019: “Happily Ever After!”

Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2019: “Happily Ever After” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths”

After attending AWP 2019 in Portland, the inspiration is flowing for us at Expo, so what better time to kick off another Flash 405 contest!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for this next round will be accepted from April 4-May 5, 2019 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge, Expo’s co-Editor-in-Chief Jessica June Rowe, and her chosen theme!

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2019: “Magic & Myths””

Call for Entries: Flash 405, Feb 2019: “Happily Ever After”

Our first contest of 2019 is here! This year’s February Flash 405 will celebrate Valentine’s with a “Happily Ever After” theme from guest judge Maureen Lee Lenker.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from February 4-March 5, 2019 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s guest judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, Feb 2019: “Happily Ever After””

Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature” Winners

Flash405-Nature1

Our latest round of Flash 405 was one for the record books! When “Nature” closed for submissions, Exposition Review editor Brianna J.L. Smyk had the daunting task of selecting just a few “vibrant pieces that dissect all the meanings of nature” from our largest entry pool yet.

Read on to explore the dark and light sides of human and Mother nature with the winners of Flash 405, April 2018: “Nature”!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2018: “Nature” Winners”