Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel” Winners

With the theme “International Travel,” judge Dave Gregory asked to “see the world through your words,” and received numerous entries that did just that: stories that made us richer, even at a time when the desire to travel and boundaries – physical, emotional, and social – seem more keenly felt than ever. We are now pleased to share the best of those stories with the world! Plus, with a portion of the entry fees and Exposition Review matching the amount, we were able to donate to an important non-profit in the Los Angeles community.

Read on to discover them for yourself.

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language”

Exposition Review is delighted to announce our last Flash 405 contest of 2020 with guest judge, author Rita Bullwinkel!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from Aug 4–Sept 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2020: “Invented Language””

Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of Flash 405: “Change In Perspective,” selected by guest judge K.B. Carle. The April 2020 contest asked writers to tell stories that changed them, but from a completely different point of view. K.B.’s prompt challenged writers to think outside the box (or even as the box!) and pushed them out of their comfort zone, resulting in some excellent, unexpected pieces.

Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, April 2020: “Change In Perspective” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel”

Our next Flash 405 contest is almost here! This round will be judged by our own Associate Editor Dave Gregory.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from June 4–July 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, June 2020: “International Travel””

Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of “Bright Spot,” our first Flash 405 contest of 2020, judged by Exposition Review Associate Editor Sarah Smith Narhi. With the current global health crisis, finding bright spots in life—the things “that spark enough joy that you would fistfight Marie Kondo to save them”—has never been more relevant.

For Exposition Review, getting to publish these winners and share their voices in the world is our bright spot. Read on to discover them for yourself!
Continue reading “Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2020: “Change in Perspective”

It’s time to announce our next Flash 405 contest. For our April 2020 round, we are delighted to welcome guest judge K. B. Carle!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from April 4–May 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, April 2020: “Change in Perspective””

Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot”

Welcome back to another exciting year of Flash 405! Our first contest of the new year (and new decade!) will open for submissions on February 4, 2020, and will be judged  by former Expo Poetry Editor and current associate editor Sarah Smith Narhi.

Flash 405 is Exposition Review‘s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from Feb 4–Mar 5, 2020 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, February 2020: “Bright Spot””

Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners

Exposition Review is pleased to announce the winners of our final Flash 405 contest of 2019! Guest judge Nancy Au posed the theme “Underneath the Words,” calling for works that took us to “places where you’ve never explored before, or the places where you’ve had difficulty finding access to.”

The winning works stood out for their delivery of powerful yet succinct revelations, discomforts, and transformations. Read on to discover them for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words” Winners”

Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners

We are pleased to announce the latest winners of our Flash 405 contest! Our June contest was judged by Expo Associate Editor CD Eskilson, who drew on the 50th anniversary of the historic Stonewall Uprising for inspiration for the theme “Legacy.”

The winning pieces took this inspiration and created works that “serve as a map through generations” as well as reveal “the ground we stand on”—and ones we won’t soon forget. Read on to discover the winners for yourself!

Continue reading “Flash 405, June 2019: “Legacy” Winners”

Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words”

We are excited to announce our last Flash 405 contest of 2019, and an extra-special guest judge: award-winning flash writer Nancy Au!

Flash 405 is Exposition Review’s multi-genre short form writing competition, awarding cash prizes and online publication to the winners. You can read the full rules and find past contests and winners here. Entries for our next round will be accepted from Aug 4–Sept 5, 2019 via Submittable.

Read on to learn more about this month’s judge and theme:

Continue reading “Call for Entries: Flash 405, August 2019: “Underneath the Words””